The Beginning

In 2009, District 9250 and 9300 prepared to amalgamate into District 9400 and in 2010 PDG Francis Callard became the first District Governor of District 9400. The newly formed District stretched across four countries, Botswana, South Africa, Mozambique, and Swaziland. District Governor Francis took charge of 90 clubs and 1,736 members

Our Geographical Area

South Africa

The Republic of South Africa covers the southern tip of Africa and has about 2,800km of coastline. The country is bordered by Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, and Mozambique. Eleven official languages are spoken by the people of this multi-ethnic society and the currency is the South African Rand (ZAR)

South Africa contains some of the oldest archaeological sites in the world including human fossils. One of the eight Unesco World Heritage sites in South Africa is “The Cradle of Humankind” situated in the Gauteng province. The country is divided into nine provinces which in turn are divided into districts, metropolitans and district municipalities.


Botswana is a landlocked country in Southern Africa which became independent in September 1966. The local population refers to themselves as Batswana and they speak Setswana and English. Botswana is named after the main tribe of the country, the Tswana people. “Bo-” Tswana refers to the people, “Se-” Tswana refers to the language. A single person is a “Mo-“Tswana and the people are “Ba-“Tswana.

The country is fairly flat and is mostly covered by the Kalahari desert. The surrounding countries are South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe and a small section of Zambia. With a population of just over 2 million people, Botswana is a very sparsely populated country. The currency is the Pula (BWP) and the country is divided into 9 Districts.


The Republic of Mozambique is a coastal country in South East Africa with (from North to South) Malawi, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Swaziland and South Africa surrounding it. The currency is the Mozambican metical and the official language is Portuguese. Some of the other languages spoken are; Swahili, Sena, and Makhuwa. The country has a population of about 25 million people and has rich and extensive natural resources

The Coastal trade of Mozambique was first dominated by Arabs and Persians, and later the Portuguese from around the 1500’s. The country is divided into 10 Provinces (Provincias) and about 130 districts which are further divided into Administrative posts and lastly Localities (the lowest geographical level

Kingdom of eSwatini (former Swaziland)

eSwatini (former Swaziland) is a small landlocked country in Southern Africa surrounded by South Africa and Mozambique to the East. Swaziland was recently renamed to the Kingdom of eSwatini. The current ruler, King Mswati III revealed the name change at the large independence celebration in Manzini, close to the capital Mbabane. The population is primarily ethnic Swazis who speak siSwati.

Swaziland is well known for its culture, with two very well-known festivals in December and August. December is normally the time for incwala, “the main ritual of Kingship” with the King as the most important person there. Umhlanga, “the Reed Dance ceremony” takes place in August when thousands of unmarried and childless girls participate in this eight-day event. The currency of eSwatini is the Swazi Lilangeni (SZL)

Future Leaders

District Governor Elect

Maurice Stander
RC Haenertsburg

District Governor Nominee

Annemarie Mostert
Rotary E-Club of Southern Africa D9400

Current and Past District Governors

Copyright: Rotary international District 9400 NPC | All rights reserved